The Luminaries are the official tour guides for the UF Honors Program and assist Honors leadership with virtual info sessions. If you're a prospective student, feel free to reach out to a Luminary with your question(s).

Meet the Luminaries by college:

Agricultural and Life Sciences

Emily Miller, milleremily@ufl.edu

  • Major: Biology
  • Involvement: Undergraduate Research, Hume House Captain ('20-'21) and Chancellor ('21-'22), URSP, PRISM Design

Delaney Phelps, delaneyphelps@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Psychology (Behavior Analysis), Family, Youth, and Community Sciences 
  • Involvement: Band (Symphonic and Pep Bands), Sources of Strength, Honors & Aprons, University Multicultural Mentor Program, volunteering with the Humane Society of North Central Florida, volunteering with local schools, psychology research, psychology and Honors teaching assistant, Society of Young Behavior Analysts, Hume Area Council (2018-2019), Conversation Partner Program (2019) 

Serra Sowers, serrasowers@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Journalism, Sustainability Studies
  • Involvement: UF Hispanic Student Association, Science CommuniGators, TA for Honors Professional Development, Army Emergency Relief Intern, CUR Student Program Director, Honor Chords

Arts

Carolyn Lightsey, lightseyc@ufl.edu

  • Major: Art History
  • Minors: Economics, German
  • Involvement: School of Art + Art History Ambassador, Art History Association Treasurer, hu event coordinator, Harn Museum of Art MUSE, Phi Mu committee member

Business, Warrington College 

 Theresa LaNasa, theresalanasa@ufl.edu

  • Major: Business Administration
  • Minor: General Theatre
  • Involvement: Freshman Leadership Council, Honor Chords, Catholic Gators, Sailing Club

Engineering, Herbert Wertheim College

Jessica Bogart, jessica.bogart@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Computer Science
  • Minors: Statistics, Economics
  • Involvement: Girls Who Code, Soccer, SWE, WiCSE, Statistics Club

Ally Cagle, a.cagle@ufl.edu

  • Major: Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Minor: Engineering Innovation
  • Involvement: Gator Theme Park Engineering and Design Club and Team, Southeastern Guide Dogs and Vice President of Puppy Club at UF, H-Camp SOFA (2020), Alchemy Research for and assisting with the Secrets of Alchemy Honors course

Blake Thacker, blakethacker@ufl.edu

  • Major: Computer Science
  • Involvement: Marching Band (Florida Drum Line), Open Source Club, Society of Software Developers, SwampHacks

Stephen Morton, stephen.morton@ufl.edu

  • Major: Mechanical Engineering
  • Involvement: Gator Theme Park Engineering Design Team, Hume House Cup Captain (2020-2021), HP Camp/Potterology, oSTEM, Undergraduate TA

Zachery Utt, utt.zachery@ufl.edu

  • Major: Computer Science, Statistics
  • Involvement: URSP, SHO Exec, Student Government, IRHA, Murphree Area Council, UF Hillel, Teaching Assistant

Journalism and Communications

Serra Sowers, serrasowers@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Journalism, Environmental Science
  • Involvement: SHO Exec, UF Hispanic Student Association, Lombardi Scholars, Unlitter, The Alligator

Liberal Arts and Sciences

Karina Bravo, karinabravo@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Political Science and International Studies
  • Minor: Portuguese
  • Involvement: SHO Exec, PRISM, ELI, Honors Involvement Conference Committee, Alachua County Supervisor of Elections Intern

Jenna Callison, jennacallison@ufl.edu

  • Majors: African American Studies, History (Pre-Law)
  • Minors: Women's Studies; Anthropology
  • Involvement: Delta Nu Zeta Service Sorority, Greek Life, UF Quiz Bowl; Humane Society, Days for Girls, the Special Olympics, Relay for Life and Girls Place volunteer

Stephanie Cobb, stephanie.cobb@ufl.edu

  • Major: Statistics
  • Involvement: Honor Chords A Cappella (Vice President, Alto), PRISM Literary Magazine (Writer, Photographer, Copyeditor), University Research Scholars Program (Peer Mentor)

Zaafira Haque, zaafira.haque@ufl.edu

  • Major: Biology
  • Involvement: Gators for Refugee Medical Relief, American Physician Scientist Association, Multicultural Association for Pre-Health Students, undergraduate research, Undergraduate Teaching Assistant

Colette Kania, colette.kania@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Economics, Educational Policy
  • Minor: Spanish
  • Involvement: Student Honors Organization Diversity and Inclusivity Committee, Mentor GNV tutor, Conversation Partner through the English Language Institute, Actualize, intramural soccer, Catholic Gators, Assembly for Action, Luminaries, lead TA for Introduction to Social Entrepreneurship

Elizabeth Lantzy, elizabeth.lantzy@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Biochemistry
  • Minor: Spanish
  • Involvement: Resident Assistant, Florida running club, Salt Company, UF Chemistry Club, UF Pre-Pharmacy Society

Natalie Lyons, natalielyons@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Chinese, International Studies
  • Minor: Japanese
  • Involvement: UF Women's Club Soccer Team, UF Model U.N. Club

Claire Miklaucic, claire.miklaucic@ufl.edu

  • Major: Anthropology
  • Minor: Philosophy
  • Involvement: Gators for Refugee Medical Relief, Hearts for the Homeless Gainesville, Student Animal Alliance, Undergraduate Philosophy Society, URSP, intramural volleyball, study abroad

Vikasni Mohan, vikasnimohan@ufl.edu

  • Major: Medical Geography (Pre-Med)
  • Minors: Chemistry and Health Disparities in Society
  • Involvement: Undergraduate Research, University Scholars Program, American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA), GatorNatyam (Indian classical dance team), Interdisciplinary Clinical and Academic Program (ICAP) Intern

Sarah Paprotna, sarahpaprotna@ufl.edu

  • Major: Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Minors: Flute Performance, Certificate in Music in Medicine
  • Involvement: URSP, UF Wind Symphony, Honors Ensemble, Gamma Phi Beta sorority, American Medical Student Association

Delaney Phelps, delaneyphelps@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Psychology (Behavior Analysis), Family, Youth, and Community Sciences 
  • Involvement: Band (Symphonic and Pep Bands), Sources of Strength, Honors & Aprons, University Multicultural Mentor Program, volunteering with the Humane Society of North Central Florida, volunteering with local schools, psychology research, psychology and Honors teaching assistant, Society of Young Behavior Analysts, Hume Area Council (2018-2019), Conversation Partner Program (2019) 

Valerie Sheehe, valeriesheehe@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Political Science, Criminology
  • Minor: History
  • Involvement: SHO Exec, HP-Camp/Potterology, UF Student Government, Crimonology research

Katie Usrey, katherine.usrey@ufl.edu

  • Major: Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Minors: Classical Studies, Health Disparities in Society, Anthropology
  • Involvement: Crisis Text Line Crisis Counselor, CWC Aware Ambassador, TRiO SSS Scholar and Honor Society Member, First Generation Leadership Program, NaviGator Family Leader, UF Volleyball Hype Squad Member, Preview Staffer, study abroad (Beyond120 Exchange Program at Trinity College Dublin Spring 2021), (Un)Common Peer Instructor, H1G Student Mentor

Yinlu Zhu, yinlu.zhu@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Women's Studies, Biology
  • Minor: Health Disparities in Society
  • Involvement: External VP for MEDLIFE, student advisory board member for the University Research Scholars Program (URSP), Care Coordinator for the Mobile Outreach Clinic, sophomore Honors Chem 2 TA

Public Health and Health Professions

Stuart Case, stuartcase@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Public Health
  • Minor: Nutritional Sciences
  • Involvement: Student Honors Association (SHO); Center for Undergraduate Research Board of Students; PICU Nutrition Research

Katie Pacini, cpacini@ufl.edu

  • Majors: Biochemistry, Public Health
  • Minor: Health Disparities in Society and Anthropology
  • Involvement: SHO Exec, URSP, American Medical Women’s Association, Chinese American Student Association, MEDLIFE, Undergraduate Public Health Association, Community Health Service Corps, In Between National, TA for General Chemistry 1 Lab, UF Genetics Institute
Back to top button