Teaching Honors

We offer a variety of courses in the Honors program, including Honors Sections of regular courses, professional development and leadership courses, and interdisciplinary courses.  Interdisciplinary coureses are frequently team-taught and are often sponsored through campus sources like the Graham Center or Center for Humanities in the Public Sphere.

We also offer a large number of one-credit seminar courses centered on a great book or art exhibit/performance.

If you are interested in teaching an Honors course, please contact Honors Director Dr. Mark Law at mlaw@honors.ufl.edu for deadlines and processes.

Dunlevie Professorships

The Elizabeth Wood Dunlevie Honors Term Professorships are made possible by a generous contribution from Ms. Dunlevie, a UF graduate.  The goal of the program is to encourage the most esteemed faculty at the University of Florida to participate in the University Honors Program as instructors and mentors.  The endowment provides summer salary and support for the faculty members’ activities.  Dunlevie Professors are selected by the Director of the Honors Program in consultation with a committee of UF faculty.  


Dunlevie Professors 2021

  • Dr. Gregory Glass, Emerging Pathogens Institute
  • Dr. Paul Ortiz, Department of History
  • Dr. Dmitry O. Traktuev, Department of Medicine

Dunlevie Professors 2020-1

  • Dr. Barbara Mennel, Center for Humanities and the Public Sphere
  • Dr. Kevin Jones, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Dr. Steve Eikenberry, Department of Astronomy
  • Dr. Keith March, Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

Dunlevie Professors 2015-6

  • Dr. Sophia Acord, Center for the Humanities in the Public Sphere
  • Dr. A. Whitney Sanford, Department of Religion

Dunlevie Professors 2014-5

  • Dr. Betty Smocovitis, Department of History
  • Dr. Greg Schultz, Department of Obstertics
  • Dr. Joan Frosch, School of Theater and Dance
  • Dr. Katheryn Russell-Brown, College of Law

Dunlevie Professors 2013-14

  • Dr. Susan Gillespie, Department of Anthropology
  • Dr. Panos Pardalos, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Dr. Jack Putz, Department of Biology
  • Dr. Lou Ritz, Department of Neuroscience

Dunlevie Professors 2012-13

  • Dr. Timothy Fik, Department of Geography
  • Dr. Connie Mulligan, Department of Anthropology
  • Dr. Anna Peterson, Department of Religion

Dunlevie Professors 2011-12

  • Dr. Barbara Barletta, School of Art and Art History
  • Dr. John Cech, Department of English
  • Dr. Robert Weiler, Department of Health Education and Behavior

Dunlevie Professors 2010-11

  • Dr. Howard Louthan, Department of History
  • Dr. Ranga Narayanan, Department of Chemical Engineering
Back to top button