Dr. Mark Law, Director

Mark Law, Head ShotMark Law is the Director of the University of Florida Honors Program. Previously, he has been Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering (2009-14) and past-chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering (2003-09). He received his B.S. from Iowa State University in 1981 in Honors, his M.S. from Stanford University in 1982, and the Ph.D. degree from Stanford University in 1988. His current research interests are in integrated circuit devices and reliability. Dr. Law was named an IEEE Fellow in 1998 for his contributions to integrated circuit process modeling and simulation. He has won several national and international awards based on this work including a 1992 NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow, 1993 SRC Technical Excellence Award, the 2006 SRC Aristotle Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Advising, the 2010 IEEE EDS J.J. Ebers Award, the 2013 SIA University Research Award, and the 2013 SEMI North America award. At UF, he has been named the College of Engineering Teacher of the Year in 1996-97 and a UF Research Fellow in 1998. Dr. Law has written over 200 papers in the area of process and device modeling and has advised 22 Ph.D. students. He has been involved in more than $20 million of funding during his career.    

He is a member IEEE Faculty and Department Development Committee.  He is an ABET evaluator and is on the Engineering Accredication Commission. He was editor-in-chief of the IEEE Journal on Technology Computer Aided Design from 1997-2002, and has served as an editor of IEEE Transactions on Semiconductor Manufacturing. He was the vice-president for technical activities of the IEEE Electron Device Society (EDS) from 2003-2006. He chaired the 1997 Simulation of Semiconductor Process and Devices Meeting, the 1999, 2002, and 2008 silicon front-end processing symposium of the Materials Research Society, the 2005 Ultra-Shallow Junctions workshop and chaired the 2000 International Electron Devices Meeting. He has served on technical committees for several other conferences. 

Email: mlaw@honors.ufl.edu